Diffraction Methods

Diffraction is the tool for determining atomic and molecular structure of crystalline materials. Materials ordered in regular crystal lattices scatter X-ray in specific directions giving rice to a pattern containing information of the specific structure of the material. By measuring the intensity and scattering direction of X-rays, diffraction offers a way to study material on the smallest length scales.

Diffraction can be performed on single crystals, crystalline powders, nanoparticles and thin films. The precise measurement of atomic structure makes it possible to characterize samples on the atomic level as well as to track changes in materials e.g. due to heat, aging, corrosion or other stresses the sample has been exposed to.

Materials with crystalline properties are forming a huge group of the materials we surround ourselves with – everything from metals and ice to paint and some plastics – and their structure are often crucial for their performance.

A single crystal scatters X-rays (or neutrons) in discrete directions. The intensities of these diffracted beams are used to solve the atomic structure.

A powder consisting of a huge number of small crystals will give rise to concentric cones of scattered radiation. Often the data are reduced to a plot of intensity as a function of scattering angle, which can be used for identification and/or structural refinement.

The AU-CMC team

Diffraction technique in LINX projects is handled by the research team at Center for Materials Crystallography, led by professor Bo Brummerstedt Iversen. The research center holds world-leading competences in synthesis, characterization and theoretical modelling of materials. The in-house facilities include several different diffractometers and the possibility to study samples under e.g. heating.

Bo Brummerstedt Iversen
Bo Brummerstedt IversenLINX Scientific Director, Professor
Aarhus University, Dept. of Chemistry & iNANO
Center for Materials Crystallography
Langelandsgade 140, building 1512, 312
8000 Aarhus C

E-mail: bo@chem.au.dk
Tel.: +45 8715 5982 or +45 2778 2887

Maja Thomsen
Maja ThomsenPostdoc at Aarhus University (AU)
Aarhus University, Dept. of Chemistry & iNANO
Langelandsgade 140, building 1511, 330
8000 Aarhus C

E-mail: maja@chem.au.dk
Tel.: 93522087

Rafael Jeppesen
Rafael JeppesenResearch Assistant (AU)
Aarhus University, Dept. of Chemistry & iNANO
Langelandsgade 140, building 1511, 330
8000 Aarhus C

E-mail: rafael@chem.au.dk

Thomas Lykke-Møller Sørensen
Thomas Lykke-Møller SørensenLector at Aarhus University (AU)
Dept. Molecular Biology and Genetics
Aarhus University
Gustav Wieds Vej 10
8000 Aarhus C

E-mail: tlms@eng.au.dk
Tel.: +45 93521443

Read more about The LINX Team.